What a fascinating decision. I'm pretty sure this violates both the Apple and Google Play stores' TOS (I doubt Twitter is unaware of that) I'm wondering what they're hoping to accomplish.
Soon we’ll be launching a change to how the block function works.
If your posts are set to public, accounts you have blocked will be able to view them, but they will not be able to engage (like, reply, repost, etc.).